Friday, March 25, 2016

Blog Tour: A DROP OF NIGHT by Stefan Bachmann (Guest Post + Giveaway)


Hi everyone! I am so excited to be one of the stops for the A Drop of Night blog tour! I am also very excited to have the author of A Drop of Night, Stefan Bachmann, on my blog today! 



10 Books I'm dying to read in 2016- Stefan Bachmann


Last year I set my Goodreads challenge to what I thought was a really reasonable 50-book goal and completely failed at it. So this year I lowered my expectations of myself and set a 30-book goal, and I think I can manage that. Here, in no particular order, are ten 2016 books I’m dying to read, or am about to read, or have been waiting patiently for a pre-order button to appear.


I saw this mentioned in conjunction with Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell, and that was really all I needed to know about it. Magic + history is my favorite, in books and movies, always.


Middle grade fantasy that’s scary and takes place in a hotel with an elevator that leads to the actual underworld? Yes, please.


I got to read the first few chapters of this last year and have been *pining* for the finished book ever since. It’s about virtual realities and dangerous games and the apocalypse and Emma's writing is awesome.


I’ve only read Laini Taylor’s Daughter of Smoke & Bone, and I loved it so much, but for some reason I haven’t gotten to the rest of the series yet. I’m still excited for this new series, mostly because the synopsis mentions blood candy. I’M SO INTRIGUED. What is blood candy?


The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls, by Claire Legrand, is one of my all-time favorites, so obviously I will read anything she writes. This one looks sad and wonderful and will no doubt be amazing.


I’m SUCH a fan of April’s prose and stories. Her writing is evocative and mysterious and basically drips atmosphere. I read the excerpt for this one back when the cover was revealed and was instantly sad it was only an excerpt.


This isn’t YA or MG, but I adored Burial Rites, Hannah Kent’s debut novel. It was dark and atmospheric, set in 1800s Iceland and about the last days of a woman sentenced to death. I still recommend it to anyone who will listen. This is Kent's second book and I could not be more excited for it.


This one just came out recently and it’s been sitting on the top of my TBR, SCREAMING TO ME. It’s about faeries in Ireland and if you’ve ever read anything Katherine Catmull has done, you know the writing is going to be a dream.


I haven’t been reading much high fantasy lately, and I really need to. The premise for this—a competition between three sisters over who will be queen—is so cool and thrilling-sounding. Also, I love the cover.



I’ve heard so many great things about this one. It’s MG, about kids escaping the London Blitz for a creepy castle boarding school. Also, there are ghosts and a mystery to solve. All things I love in a book.





 Seventeen-year-old Anouk has finally caught the break she’s been looking for—she's been selected out of hundreds of other candidates to fly to France and help with the excavation of a vast, underground palace buried a hundred feet below the suburbs of Paris. Built in the 1780's to hide an aristocratic family and a mad duke during the French Revolution, the palace has lain hidden and forgotten ever since. Anouk, along with several other gifted teenagers, will be the first to set foot in it in over two centuries.
Or so she thought.
But nothing is as it seems, and the teens soon find themselves embroiled in a game far more sinister, and dangerous, than they could possibly have imagined. An evil spanning centuries is waiting for them in the depths. . .
A genre-bending thriller from Stefan Bachmann for fans of The Maze Runner and Joss Whedon’s The Cabin in the Woods.
You cannot escape the palace.
You cannot guess its secrets.




Stefan Bachmann


Stefan Bachmann was born in Colorado and spent of most of his childhood in Switzerland, where he's now a student of music at the Z├╝rich University of Arts.

His debut, gothic-faery-fantasy THE PECULIAR, was a New York Times Editor's Choice and a Publishers Weekly Best Book of 2012, and was translated into eight languages. Its companion, THE WHATNOT, was released on September 24th, 2013.

THE CABINET OF CURIOSITIES: 36 TALES BRIEF AND SINISTER, a collection of scary stories he wrote together with authors Emma Trevayne, Claire Legrand and Katherine Catmull, was released May 27th, 2014, from Greenwillow/HarperCollins.

His next book, YA thriller A DROP OF NIGHT, about a group of American teens fighting to survive after they become trapped in an underground Versailles, will be out March 15th, 2016, also from Greenwillow/HarperCollins.

LINKS: Website | Twitter 


Tour Schedule:
Week 1:

Week 2:


3 Finished Copies of A DROP OF NIGHT (US Only)


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thank you so much for sharing ten books you are dying to read this year, Stefan! I am excited for several of these and just added a few that I didn't know about yet to my TBR! 
Make sure to check out the other awesome blog posts for the A Drop of Night blog tour!

6 comments:

  1. Ooh, I can't wait to read Strange the Dreamer and Wink Popppy Midnight too! Lovely guest post; I'm really excited to read this book!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I am really looking forward to Strange the Dreamer too! I'm glad you liked the guest post. I hope you enjoy all three of these books when you get the chance to read them.
      Thanks for stopping by!

      Delete
  2. I'm really looking forward to reading this book. I am hoping to read Wink Poppy Midnight too! Thanks for the post.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yay! I hope you enjoy reading both of them!
      Thanks for stopping by!

      Delete
  3. Never heard of this author, but I read the first two lines of the synopsis of this book and really want to read it. Love historical stuff, especially stuff before 1850. Good luck and looking forward to reading

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It is a pretty interesting book, I enjoyed reading it. I hope you enjoy reading it too!
      Thanks for stopping by!

      Delete

Thank you so much for taking the time to visit my blog and leave a comment! I read every single one and they make my day! <3