Saturday, April 22, 2017

My Bookish Verdict #3: Read in February 2017

My Bookish Itinerary

Sometimes I feel like I don't have enough words to write a review (or mini-review) for books. Which is why I have decided to share my thoughts on multiple books I've read during the month here. My Bookish Verdict will be really short reviews/thoughts about the books and my verdict on whether you should Buy it ASAP, Buy it, Buy it on sale, Borrow, or Skip it.

Starflight (Starflight #1) by Melissa Landers

Solara Brooks needs a fresh start, someplace where nobody cares about the engine grease beneath her fingernails or the felony tattoos across her knuckles. The outer realm may be lawless, but it's not like the law has ever been on her side. Still, off-world travel doesn't come cheap; Solara is left with no choice but to indenture herself in exchange for passage to the outer realm. She just wishes it could have been to anyone besides Doran Spaulding, the rich, pretty-boy quarterback who made her life miserable in school. The tables suddenly turn when Doran is framed for conspiracy on Earth, and Solara cons him into playing the role of her servant on board the Banshee, a ship manned by an eccentric crew with their own secrets. Given the price on both Doran and Solara's heads, it may just be the safest place in the universe. It's been a long time since Solara has believed in anyone, and Doran is the last person she expected to trust. But when the Banshee's dangerous enemies catch up with them, Solara and Doran must come together to protect the ship that has become their home—and the eccentric crew that feels like family.

This was my first book by Melissa Landers and it definitely will not be my last! I absolutely LOVED reading Starflight. I read it in one day. I couldn't put it down. I loved the characters and the story itself. I have nothing but love for this book. I immediately pre-ordered the second book when I finished reading it. I am really looking forward to find out what happens next in Starfall! 

By Your Side by Kasie West

In this irresistible story, Kasie West explores the timeless question of what to do when you fall for the person you least expect. Witty and romantic, this paperback original from a fan favorite is perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins and Morgan Matson.When Autumn Collins finds herself accidentally locked in the library for an entire weekend, she doesn’t think things could get any worse. But that’s before she realizes that Dax Miller is locked in with her. Autumn doesn’t know much about Dax except that he’s trouble. Between the rumors about the fight he was in (and that brief stint in juvie that followed it) and his reputation as a loner, he’s not exactly the ideal person to be stuck with. Still, she just keeps reminding herself that it is only a matter of time before Jeff, her almost-boyfriend, realizes he left her in the library and comes to rescue her.Only he doesn’t come. No one does.Instead it becomes clear that Autumn is going to have to spend the next couple of days living off vending-machine food and making conversation with a boy who clearly wants nothing to do with her. Except there is more to Dax than meets the eye. As he and Autumn first grudgingly, and then not so grudgingly, open up to each other, Autumn is struck by their surprising connection. But can their feelings for each other survive once the weekend is over and Autumn’s old life, and old love interest, threaten to pull her from Dax’s side?


I LOVE Kasie West. So I was really excited to read By Your Side. I really enjoyed reading it too! It was a read in one sitting type book for me. I couldn't stop reading it. I loved the setting and the characters. The story is really cute and adorable. I loved reading it and definitely recommend reading it if you love Contemporary Romance books!

Bestselling author Sherman Alexie tells the story of Junior, a budding cartoonist growing up on the Spokane Indian Reservation. Determined to take his future into his own hands, Junior leaves his troubled school on the rez to attend an all-white farm town high school where the only other Indian is the school mascot.Heartbreaking, funny, and beautifully written, The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian, which is based on the author's own experiences, coupled with poignant drawings by Ellen Forney that reflect the character's art, chronicles the contemporary adolescence of one Native American boy as he attempts to break away from the life he was destined to live.


I think this is an important read. It is a very unique story and a very powerful read. This is the type of book that makes you stop and think about what you read. It is a good read. 

On the Edge of Gone by Corinne Duyvis

January 29, 2035. That’s the day the comet is scheduled to hit—the big one.
Denise and her mother and sister, Iris, have been assigned to a temporary shelter outside their hometown of Amsterdam to wait out the blast, but Iris is nowhere to be found, and at the rate Denise’s drug-addicted mother is going, they’ll never reach the shelter in time.
A last-minute meeting leads them to something better than a temporary shelter: a generation ship, scheduled to leave Earth behind to colonize new worlds after the comet hits. But everyone on the ship has been chosen because of their usefulness. Denise is autistic and fears that she’ll never be allowed to stay. Can she obtain a spot before the ship takes flight? What about her mother and sister?
When the future of the human race is at stake, whose lives matter most?

I bought an e-book of On the Edge of Gone because I saw it being promoted on Twitter and it was on sale. The synopsis sounded awesome and I thought it would be a book I would end up loving. Overall, I enjoyed reading this book. I loved the characters and the plot of the story. On the Edge of Gone has a lot of diversity, which is awesome. I just found parts of it to be a bit boring at times and pretty slow moving. I thought there was going to be more action and just more happening overall. This is more of a character driven story. The characters are very well written and developed. I was just hoping for a bit more with the plot. I still liked reading it though.


Made You Up by Francesca Zappia

Reality, it turns out, is often not what you perceive it to be—sometimes, there really is someone out to get you. Made You Up tells the story of Alex, a high school senior unable to tell the difference between real life and delusion. This is a compelling and provoking literary debut that will appeal to fans of Wes Anderson, Silver Linings Playbook, and Liar.
Alex fights a daily battle to figure out the difference between reality and delusion. Armed with a take-no-prisoners attitude, her camera, a Magic 8-Ball, and her only ally (her little sister), Alex wages a war against her schizophrenia, determined to stay sane long enough to get into college. She’s pretty optimistic about her chances until classes begin, and she runs into Miles. Didn’t she imagine him? Before she knows it, Alex is making friends, going to parties, falling in love, and experiencing all the usual rites of passage for teenagers. But Alex is used to being crazy. She’s not prepared for normal. 
Funny, provoking, and ultimately moving, this debut novel featuring the quintessential unreliable narrator will have readers turning the pages and trying to figure out what is real and what is made up. 


Made You Up is unlike any other book I have ever read. It is definitely a different book for me. I really liked it. I found it to be an interesting story. It is moving and thought-provoking. The writing completely pulled me into the story and I read it really quickly. I really liked the relationship between Alex and Miles. I really enjoyed reading this one!

Have you read any of these books? What is your verdict? 

1 comment:

  1. Starflight was my first Melissa Landers book too, I loved it!! I still need to read the sequel.


Thank you so much for taking the time to visit my blog and leave a comment! I read every single one and they make my day! <3